Notice
Thread ordered by most liked posts - View normal thread.

Katykatykaty

VIP Member
I had an epiphany last night about why some books take me ages to read and others I can flit through in a couple days. It’s all down to chapter size!
If a book has short chapters then I’ll always say “one more chapter then that’s it” but then I’ll check the next chapter and if it has 2/3/4 pages I’ll just quickly read it and then check the next one, and repeat multiple times and before you know I’ve read for another 20 minutes. If I look and the next chapter has 15/20 pages then I know I’m not likely to make it through before wanting to sleep/stop so I’ll put the book down until the next time.

Anyone else the same?

Reactions: 17

Oohthedrama

Iconic Member
I really really dislike Matt Haig and they hype around him as an author, I found his books tedious.
his publishers have obviously pushed him so much he became popular without merit 😐
I said it 😂

Reactions: 15

Geranium

VIP Member
I read Every Missing Thing last night and, although I didn't enjoy the writing at first and was ready to cast it aside, I persevered and thought it was brilliant. Such a plot twist and the term "poetic justice" sprang to mind at the end. Sometimes it really is worth ploughing through and I think setting aside time to read, rather than picking it up occasionally, really helped.

On the subject of overrated authors, John Marr is another that I don't rate. I read just one of his books and still regret the time I wasted. Other hyped up and popular books also fall flat for me. The Hearts Invisible Furies bored me, Behind Closed Doors and The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes were another 2 that I didn't enjoy.