Notice
Thread ordered by most liked posts - View normal thread.

SpiritofSalty

Chatty Member
Ok, I am going to warn you this is going to be long. I want to repeat were my opinions are coming from ( as I am still new and my introduction was relatively brief. I have autism myself, I studied Psychology and neuroscience and I work as a researcher and therapist (not ABA!!!) for People with autism and other disabilities and their families. I am not pretending that I am the absolute authority on all things autism, but I think I have a reasonable foundation.
First, I did enjoy this videoformat more than those snoozefests they sold as vlogs until now. I could actually finish a video for the first time in months. Assas Voice is annoying, but oh well. Baby steps.
Cut to him explaining that they learned her body language by being around her and that she doesn't need to communicate emotions (what? you just said that she does) and that she doesn't have the capacity to understand the need to communicate them. Hard disagree! She might not understand the need now, but that is something that can and should be taught. It would benefit her to learn more abstract signs. Start easy with good/bad. From everything i've seen, they misunderstand and disregard her feelings, wants and needs constantly. Clear signs would help everyone. Abbie actually resorts to signs she knows like the ever famous 'bathroom'. Also 'all done' and 'help' is pretty abstract.
Assa mentions scrolling. What he shows isn't scrolling though. Abbie never deviates, it is bathroom, bathroom, bathroom. My theory is that she wants something specific and bathroom has the outcome that most closely resembles what she wants. Does that make sense? I am bad at describing.