Notice
Thread ordered by most liked posts - View normal thread.
I am a student midwife currently working within the NHS. Do we know anything about this midwife? Is she NHS or independent? Usually 24hours after SROM you would be invited into hospital for acceleration of labour. Of course any woman can decline this, but that would be against medical advice due to risk of infection and potential fetal distress. From the article, it sounds like Lauren’s waters were clear the whole time, no mec present.
she was then left 3(?) days with no CTG monitoring. If she stayed at home the whole time the monitoring would have been intermittent via doppler or pinard which is inappropriate for the situation, however if Lauren chose to stay at home rather than going in to hospital that’s the only option you have.

Then during contractions the midwife came back, couldn’t detect an FH, called an ambulance and they went in to hospital (finally).

Then I’m confused.

If they couldn’t detect an FH at hospital or visualise one via a quick ultrasound why did they start resus when she delivered the baby 2 hours later? They either diagnose an FDIU or they don’t.
If they did detect an FH when she came in via ambulance but they baby was struggling and looking hypoxic they would have done a cat 1 section to get the baby out within minutes and then they would have started resus.

It’s all in the details. The story currently doesn’t make much medical sense but I can’t imagine having to retell what happened when you’re grieving and traumatised. Especially when you don’t have the medical knowledge or correct terminology to explain it.