Workplace Mental Health Help

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
Looking for direction/advice/help

I work in the Veterinary industry: high pressure, long hours and it is leading to mental health concerns within my team.

I am keen to implement some strategies to help the staff, but not sure of the specifics.

I have a review form that asks about burnout, stress, anxiety - how often should I be asking staff to complete them (there are 70 of us).

I have downloaded done information about a wellness policy and we have a mental first aider already.

Any other advice welcome

• Heart
Reactions: 2
An excellent resource would be a “take home checklist” these are incredibly common within healthcare environments, this is a good example https://www.dbth.nhs.uk/news/the-going-home-checklist/

Frequent supervision is a must. This opens up concerns, reflection and take home messages. Consider implementing an opportunity for staff to have a safe place, at a routine period e.g after every shift, to share information. This facilitates early intervention if particular themes are occurring e.g staff feeling concerned with similar issues causing burnout

Encouraging regular breaks too, even a few minutes to walk around the building or time away from the stresses of the job. Avoid patronising “positive” videos, these are incredibly annoying and don’t encourage open discussion!

I don’t think a review form would give honest answers, unless it was anonymised and recorded online. Unfortunately stigma still exists around mental health r.e employment, many people don’t want their employer to know if they’re struggling with their mh, due to fear of stigma and negative repurcussions e.g job loss. A fortnightly online survey, with the reassurance responses will be confidential would probably yield more honesty.

• Heart
Reactions: 5
This is so lovely!