Teaching - the good, the bad, the ugly

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
Since teachers seem to have taken over the ‘I hate my job’ thread I thought I’d start a thread specifically for us teachers to rant, support or occasionally celebrate.

This may also be a good place for those who have left teaching to share other career opportunities so we can escape too 😂

Reactions: 10
Haha good thread!
I was a teacher, I LOVED the teaching, it was all the other crap that came with it. I was in a college so it was different to schools but yeah, I had a break down. My mental health was screwed for a long time.
A year ago I finally went back to work but in a mental health crisis centre and I love it. I feel like I’m making a difference and I feel appreciated by clients and colleagues.

Reactions: 7
Not a teacher but work in schools. I have the utmost respect for all you teachers and you are all AMAZING, but as I mentioned on the job hating thread, I could weep at the current state of schools. Crumbling buildings, huge levels of SEN and needs greater than ever before, entitled rude parents and no money. How does it ever get better?

Schools are the ultimate example of having to do more with less, it's just that less gets less every year.

Reactions: 13
I met with a relative at the weekend, she's a primary school teacher and she's taking early retirement. A child of seven in a class threw an object at her face and caused a minor injury and another child shut her in a store cupboard. She said it's gradually got worse over the last few years. One of the children broke two expensive iPad's and was then treated to a shopping spree :oops:
Rewarding bad behaviour has got the school in the mess it is now in with unruly and dangerous behaviour.

• Sad
  • Wow
Reactions: 11