Student Nurse

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
Hi,

I’m not even sure if this will reach the right audience, or why I’m resorting to a gossip forum for emotional advice but here we are 🫣

I’m in my third year now, about eight months away from graduating as a qualified nurse, and I hate every moment of it.

I’m not sure what changed between the end of my second year and now, but I cry every night before shifts, I spend the entire shift on another planet cause I’m so anxious and panicked the entire time. I feel completely lost in the job and I’m truly starting to think I’ve made the biggest mistake of my life.

The closer I get to qualifying the more I think I want to run away and never go back onto a ward again. I feel sick at the thought of my shift tomorrow.

I’m undergoing therapy at the moment for all of this with the university but I am terrified that these feelings of complete and utter dread aren’t going to go away until I stop doing nursing. I never dreamt I’d ever feel this way - I adored the first two years and it’s all I’ve ever wanted to do.

If I could afford to drop out and do another degree now I would but that would mean a wasted student loan & I’d never be able to fund another degree for myself.

I feel completely and utterly lost.

If there are any nurses who can help and advice that would be so helpful because I truly don’t know what to do.

PS I just want to add onto the end of this that I will still go into each and every shift and do everything I can for all of the patients - that has never and will never change.

• Heart
Reactions: 5
You sound like a very dedicated and caring person, I’m sorry to hear that you’re in this position, is there any way you could take a year out from the degree? It sounds to me like your head is all over the place and you’re definitely struggling a lot with your mh right now

• Heart
Reactions: 3