Moving away when I just got a new job!

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
Advice needed please as I’m terrified to talk to my boss!

I started a new role in healthcare 2 months ago. I’m really enjoying it, the people are lovely and it’s in an ideal location.
However, my boyfriend plays sport and he’s just been offered a 6 month contract to go and play for a team in New Zealand, from September to March. He’s offered for us both to go out there, and we can both work whilst there.

I’ve always wanted to go, and I’m finding myself being unable to say no!! It’s honestly a once in a lifetime opportunity.

However, I work in healthcare with huge caseloads. Me joining the team was a huge thing, I took over a very heavy caseload and have just started developing relationships with them. My bosses are completely understaffed and I was the first permanent staff in a while. Someone recently left and the bosses were fuming. I would just feel awful. I mentioned this to a colleague too, who joked that I would be “blacklisted” by my boss.

I really really really want to go but I’m absolutely terrified about how this’ll make me look. I’d love to work here when I came home but it’s probably unlikely that they’ll want me to come back.

What do I do and how do I tell my bosses??

Reactions: 1
Wow congrats to your boyfriend! I'd be like you and raring to go to a new country, especially NZ!

Honestly? You don't owe a job anything and if they go funny with you for leaving, do you really want to work somewhere where they do that? I'd definitely take this opportunity with both hands and quit.

As for how, well I suppose just be clear that you don't want to burn any bridges and you've loved your time there. I'd try sway away from apologising for leaving them in the lurch because them being understaffed is not your problem.