Kids food allergies

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
Hi all, I’m looking for a bit of advice. I’m catering for a kids party next month and one of the kids is allergic to wheat, barley, egg and peanuts. I have no experience with allergies so just looking for any tips for suitable party food. Thanks for any help!

Need to be very careful with cross contamination. I'd keep the allergy kids snacks separate. Do you know if the the kid is anaphylactic to his allergies? Nut allergy can be airborne and in that case I would make sure all food is nut free.

There are good 'free from' sections now in most supermarkets. Pom bear crisps would be suitable. I'm sure you would be able to find some Instagram accounts with tips and ideas. Good luck.

Also, if you are up to baking a cupcake/cake, you can use a GF shop bought packet of cake mix and substituent the egg with a can of fizzy pop. It's lovely and works really well.

Reactions: 1
I personally would always ask the parents for specific foods that the kids can and will eat.
My cousin had a similar situation at her birthday party and we found lots of suitable stuff for the kid … but he didn‘t like any of it and cried because he couldn‘t have what the others were having.

• Sad
Reactions: 2
I would ask his parents what he can have and what they would suggest. Pre packaged things like Lazy Day and some things from the free from section of the supermarket may be a good choice.

Hi all, I’m looking for a bit of advice. I’m catering for a kids party next month and one of the kids is allergic to wheat, barley, egg and peanuts. I have no experience with allergies so just looking for any tips for suitable party food. Thanks for any help!
I’d definitely speak to the parent - much better to know you’re giving them food they can and will eat rather than trying to work it out for yourself, and you know they will get things they will eat too.