Notice
Thread ordered by most liked posts - View normal thread.

Bleurghgram

VIP Member
I started journaling about a month ago as my boyfriend left me completely out of the blue and I needed an outlet for my feelings that wasn’t endless whatsapp messages begging him to come home 😳

I feel like a 12 year old and I would die if anyone ever read it. But it’s helping me to find triggers in what causes really bad days and I cannot wait to eventually look back and see how far I’ve come.

At the moment I don’t really have to think about what I write as I’m all over the place emotionally and it all kind of pours out of me. But I am wondering what it will evolve into as I (hopefully) feel better, does anyone use prompts or do you find you can always note down your thoughts?

• Heart
Reactions: 13

or JusRollWithIt

VIP Member
I’m a lifelong journal writer. I sadly threw out my teen ones as I’d read back on them and cringed so badly and tore them to pieces. But I think a few decades on, I’d now enjoy reading my younger thoughts.

There have been gaps over the years. Like when the kids were really young and I was so sleep deprived and couldn’t be bothered. I still had a journal of some form though and would jot milestones and the odd entry but it was minimaI. I did keep a blog for a few years, but prefer pen and paper.

The last 5-6 years have been regular almost daily entries. I use moleskin notebooks, hardcover ruled. The content varies. It does help me to “dump” at the end of the day. Sometimes it’s deeper thoughts, sometimes it’s mundane recaps of the day. I find I used to not write when my mental health would be suffering, but even forcing myself to make a bullet point list of tasks accomplished helped me reflect and not get too stuck. It’s only when I’m out of my slumps that I’m able to reflect with some insightful words.