Actor and Writer Strikes in Hollywood

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
I'm no expert on this, but I'm not sure how it will ever be resolved. The main issue seems to be money and now we're in the streaming era this media is a lot less profitable. Yet another model that has very quickly totally changed everything.

Drew Barrymore is coming back with her talkshow, seems to have a lot of negative comments - but has it been hijacked by those with vested interests? I'm not sure if the average American is overwhelming in support of the strikes?

My husband and I are in the film and tv industry. The strike is about money for writers but the actors strike is more about the use of AI and how it affects the royalties of actors (both big names and the lower rankings such as extras) in the future.

Reactions: 3
It’s interesting Drew is copping flack for exactly what David Letterman got away with… still using writers during the strike last time.

Reactions: 2
I know the AI thing is what the unions are pushing as the main issue. But many other (less biased) sources are saying the main issue is residual payments from streamers and them not disclosing numbers.

Since streamers replaced cable the money coming in is apparently 6 times less. Disney's gamble in streaming does seem to have paid off with huge losses and now huge cuts. People are switching from streamer service to only have them when needed, rather than having half a dozen running 12 months a year. There's so much less money thesedays.

I know the AI thing is what the unions are pushing as the main issue. But many other (less biased) sources are saying the main issue is residual payments from streamers and them not disclosing numbers.