Would you choose money and a comfortable life or struggling for a few years for a career?

New to Tattle Life? Click "Order Thread by Most Liked Posts" button below to get an idea of what the site is about:
I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I work as a legal secretary whilst I am studying my law degree. My degree is part time so I am in my fourth year of six. I am 25, so I am doing my degree later than most of my friends, I wasn't in the right headspace to attend a brick uni at 18 so I decided not to go.

I am on quite a low wage in my current job (£17,500). My other half and I are currently buying a house but money is definitely going to be extremely tight. He is self employed so income varies month to month. I can see a huge benefit to working in the legal sector whilst I study, hopefully my current firm will be able to offer me some form of training contract on completion of my degree. However, the wage is low. I took a pay cut to come here (I was extremely unhappy in my old job and saw this job in the legal sector as a massive opportunity) however I am definitely missing the extra money!

I've been offered an interview for a non-legal firm just as a general admin assistant which pays £21,500. I'm really stuck on what to do. I can't decide whether I'm best to just stick where I am, and potentially struggle for a few years in the hope that I get a training contract in which case I'll see a pay rise, or work elsewhere whilst I finish my degree and be able to earn more and live more comfortably. Then hope that when I complete my degree I'm able to get back into the legal sector based off of previous experience.

I know I've got a great opportunity where I am currently however I am worried about money. Obviously I'll soon have a house and other bills to pay for, and I hope to have children at some point in the near future which inevitably costs! Just looking for some opinions on what you'd do?

Reactions: 1